Race Results for July 15, 2000

Race Results for July 15, 2000

Ocala, FL, July 15, 2000 – While cool breezes blew, the full moon shone on a capacity crowd tonight at Ocala Speedway.

The Junior Cup Cars were the first to race. Mariah Berry (24) sat on pole, and Eddie Kilbury Jr. (64) sat on the outside in his borrowed car. Berry jumped well and took the lead early. Kilbury Jr. soon found an inside hole and took the lead. Berry tried hard but she was unable to regain the lost ground. Eddie Kilbury Jr. took the checkered flag for the win.

The Coca Cola Four Cylinder Bombers came out in force tonight. Devon Hughes (1) sat on the pole, and Chris Noce (99) sat on the outside. Both jumped well as the flag fell. Brock Oglesby (88) passed Noce within a lap, but almost immediately, he began to lose power, slipping slowly back into the pack. Hughes held onto his lead for a few laps, but Joel Eckman (27) was on a run. Eckman claimed the lead and Chauna Johnston (43) moved up to second position. Robert Oxendine (7) was slowly but surely working his way through the pack and was able to reach third position. The feature was clean. Joel Eckman took the win followed by Chauna Johnston, Robert Oxendine, Rick Fort and Neal Durbin.

The WTRS Pure Stocks poured out of the pits. Erich Hammacher (12) sat on the pole, and Jamie Dunn (24) sat on the outside. The start was good and Hammacher took the lead. Dunn was riding hard in second, but Richard McGlashan (113) took the position within a lap. Hammacher and McGlashan raced ahead of the pack which stayed well grouped. On the third lap, a car went into the turn four wall very hard, and a yellow flag flew. When racing restarted, Hammacher and McGlashan, were followed closely by Kenny Abney (3). John Betts (81) was quietly making his way through the pack, gaining a position with every lap. Betts passed Abney on lap ten and was about to start on McGlashan, but a yellow flag flew. On the restart, McGlashan lost ground in turn one and Betts moved up to challenge Hammacher. It was a tough battle, but in the end John Betts overcame Hammacher to take the win. After passing through tech, John Betts was declared the official winner, followed by Moose Alderman in second. Edward England, Dave Dinehart and David Walls filled out the top five.

The Dave’s Towing Street Stocks filled the track. Eddie Kilbury (71) sat on the pole and Charles Kopach (53) sat on the outside. Both started well, but Mike Wilson (79) quickly moved past Kopach to take second position. The feature was caution free. Eddie Kilbury held on for the win and Mike Wilson came in second. Glenn Baum finished third followed by Tom Posivic and Charles Kopach.

The Budweiser Modifieds filled the track tonight. Red Vann (32) sat on the pole, and Johnny Newsome (31) sat on the outside. The start went well until turn one when Newsome slipped and got sideways. Everyone got by safely and the pack doubled up to restart. One lap was completed when another flag flew for a car spinning on the backstretch. Vann took another shot at the lead, and Newsome rode a close second for several laps. Alan McCafferty (32g) sat in third. After lap six, a third caution slowed the action when Scott Millar (14) spun through turn four. After lap nine, another caution flew when Newsome and David Baxley (64) got tangled up in turn four. Red Vann took the checkered flag, followed very closely by Alan McCafferty. Scott Millar regained ground and finished third. David Baxley and John Clair filled out the top five.

The special feature was the Figure 8 School Bus race. It was obvious that the drivers had put some effort into fixing up the buses as the start was hard and fast. Eight buses were entered and most finished. Tom Roberts (2) started on the pole and held the lead. The crossroad was a tense place as drivers jockeyed for position. With three laps to go, Ted (3) made an inside move in what is normally turn four and went under Roberts to gain the lead. After some close calls, Ted took the checkered flag. Tom Roberts finished second with Alan McCafferty coming in third. Red Vann and Dave Dinehart picked up fourth and fifth.

The Ocala Speedway 2000 season continues with weekly racing. The racing season continues Saturday 22nd, with All Divisions plus Pro Figure 8, Dwarf Cars, and 25 Lap Pure Stock Race. Come out every Saturday night during the regular season for the many exciting features. This is high-action racing fun for the whole family.