Race Results for September 30, 2000

Race Results for September 30, 2000

Ocala, FL, September 30, 2000 – Ocala Speedway featured great racing tonight with full classes and cool weather.

The Junior Cup Cars appeared first, but Mariah Berry (24) was the only driver. She showed off her car well and finished by taking the checkered flag.

The Coca Cola Four Cylinder Bombers came out with a full field. Dwayne Hillary (22) sat on the pole. The start went well with Jeff Oglesby (88) jumping to the lead. Neal Durbin (33) was running very well, as was Joel Eckman (27). A yellow caution flag was thrown after the second lap when a car spun and both inside tires went flat. Two more laps were completed and another flag was thrown when cars spun through turn one. Oglesby led the way through seven more laps and two more cautions. On the twelfth lap, Kris Richardson (11) slipped by Oglesby and one lap later, Pete Close moved up to second position. Kris Richardson held on to take the checkered flag. Pete Close finished second and Neal Durbin was third. Joel Eckman and Jeff Oglesby filled in the top five.

The WTRS Pure Stocks roared out of the pits. Rick Hart (13) sat on the pole, and Richard McGlashen (113) sat on the outside. McGlashen made a very strong leap for the lead. Hart held second position for six hard-fought laps and two cautions. Doug Levesque (68) was working hard to get by, but Hart was driving very well. On the seventh lap, Levesque was able to take second and mount a challenge against McGlashen. Levesque had the power to take the point, but McGlashen was driving a fantastic race, holding a line around each turn that prevented Levesque from making the pass. The fans were on their feet several times when Levesque pulled up level with McGlashen’s doors, but in the turns, McGlashen would re-establish his lead. Richard McGlashen drove hard to take the checkered flag for the first time this year. Doug Levesque finished second followed by Edward England, Moose Alderman and Mark Mitchell.

The Dave’s Towing Street Stocks filled the track with a special 25-lap feature. Charles Kopach (53) sat on the pole. The first lap was not yet completed when there was a hard pile-up in turn four. The number 16 car and Eddie Kilbury’s (71) car smashed together and Kilbury landed in the front stretch wall. The two were out with major damage. A complete double-up restart was called. Kopach jumped well and took the lead. Glenn Baum (23) rode in second while Mike Wilson (79) sat in third. Baum took a spin through turn three, and although he worked hard, he was unable to completely recover. Wilson took the point from Kopach on the fourth lap and held on for the entire feature. Lap twelve was hard to get completed, two attempts being stopped by yellow flags. The rest of the race was clean and Mike Wilson raced hard for the checkered flag. Charles Kopach finished a strong second followed by Bob Masciarelli, Chris Fadling and Glenn Baum.

The Budweiser Modifieds were last on the track tonight. Brent Jordan (04) lead the pack from the pole, with Bob Lefevre (93) sitting on the outside. Jordan was not able to hold the lead though as Red Vann (32) made his presence known. Scott Millar (14) drove into second position by the fourth lap. A caution was thrown after lap six when Alan McCafferty (32) and Lefevre spun through turn one. Each restarted on their own and racing continued. Millar was very strong tonight and he stayed very tight on Vann’s bumper. Red Vann was not to be overtaken tonight though and the checkered flag was his. Scott Millar finished a very close second followed by Alan McCafferty, Rob Lefevre and Brent Jordan.

The Ocala Speedway 2000 season continues with weekly racing. Next week will feature all the regular divisions plus the Outlaw Winged Sprints as guests. Come out every Saturday night during the regular season for the many exciting features. This is high-action racing fun for the whole family.